Embracing the Journey v1.0 : Triumphs and Growth in Fitness

Embracing the Journey v1.0 : Triumphs and Growth in Fitness

Today, I want to share a personal achievement that has brought me immense joy and can hopefully inspire you to experience the same.

This year, I set a goal to start working out as one of my new year resolutions, and while it seemed exciting initially, I found myself struggling to take the first step. However, this June, I finally made it to the gym, and the experience has been nothing short of mind-blowing. Through my fitness journey, I discovered valuable lessons about self-doubt, goal-setting, and the beauty of growth. Join me as I reflect on my progress and the importance of embracing every step along the way.

Like many, I was initially intimidated by the idea of working out. The thought of not being able to do even a handful of push-ups made me doubt my abilities. Not to talk of going to the gym and then “woefully” flopping discouraged me. Seeing friends who effortlessly completed 250 push-ups a day further fueled my insecurities. This self-doubt crept in, and I unconsciously stopped my home workouts altogether. 6 months later, June 1st signaling the start of a new half of the year, I made a firm decision to step out of my comfort zone and hit the gym. And guess what? I've been going strong for a whole week now.

During my gym session today, I set a target for myself: to complete 50 push-ups. As I pushed my body, soul and mind, I managed to reach count 48 before my strength gave way. At that moment, it would have been easy to feel disappointed or frustrated with myself for not hitting the desired goal. But then I paused and reflected on my journey so far. It hit me that just a week ago, I couldn't even do 10 push-ups properly. I realized the immense growth I had achieved within such a short time.

Setting goals can be enticing, especially when they align with our desires and aspirations. However, the journey towards those goals can be far more challenging and daunting than we initially anticipate. It's easy to get caught up in thoughts of impossibility and to become overwhelmed by the gap between where we are and where we want to be. But here's the beautiful part: it all begins with taking that first step and trying. Trials break down the barriers of impossibility and pave the way for progress.

While I may not have reached the lofty expectations I initially set for myself, I have come to understand that it's perfectly okay. It's okay not to hit the exact target I aimed for. What truly matters is that I consciously pushed myself out of my comfort zone and surpassed the limitations I had once placed on myself. Each attempt, each push-up, represents growth, both physically and mentally. I am no longer where I used to be, and that, in itself, is a significant achievement worth celebrating.

Conclusion:

In our pursuit of personal growth and achievement, it's crucial to embrace the journey and acknowledge our progress along the way. Remember, it's okay to stumble, to fall short of your goals, and to face challenges. What matters most is that you dared to take that chance, to move yourself consciously towards a better version of yourself. So, as you embark on your own journey, be kind to yourself, celebrate the small victories, and trust in the transformative power of perseverance and self-belief.